My First Year @ Blogging


Today, I complete an year of blogging. I would like to thank all people who visited my blog during the year, took time to read the content, liked and shared it to their social networks. I wrote about a variety of perspectives in biotechnology and received good response on my posts. I had visitors from as many as 80 countries, which was beyond my wildest expectations.

Why I started blogging?

A world map, showing countries this blog has visitors from. The darker the colour, more the visitors from that particular country.
A world map, showing countries this blog has visitors from. The darker the colour, more the visitors from that particular country.


Out of boredom, mainly. My first year at college had ended and I was left with nothing to do, but for read books. In a impulse, I had this thought of summarizing my readings into blog postings. WordPress seemed the most suitable platform for the kind of stuff I wanted to put up, and here I am sharing my journey with you. I am in a biotechnology course and this is what I wish to do in my life. This blog is a medium for me to explore the vastness of the field and to spread my love for it. The best thing about blogging is that you are driven to read. I am always on the look out for fresh content to post on my blog and this has motivated me to study more, both in quantity and variety.

My best posts
This is my 37th post in the last 52 weeks. But if I’m to select the best five, it would be quite a challenge for me to do so. Anyway, here is my list of the top 5 and I recommend (and request) you to read them, if you haven’t before.

  1. The promise of synthetic biology : Synthetic biology is about to revolutionize the field of biology in a manner analogous to how personal computing has revolutionized the society in the past three decades. It aims to make biology more open, its tools more standard and thee research more simple.
  2. What exactly is the P4 Medicine? : This posts highlights how systems approach to biology would make the medicine of tomorrow more predictive, preventive, personalized and participatory. It outlines its benefits and the thought process behind it.
  3. Technical Challenges to the P4 Medicine: In this post, I highlighted the technical challenges which are per-requisites for P4 Medicine to surface, or shall we say make the transition from lab to clinic.
  4. Stem Cell-based Cell Therapy for Neurodegenerative Diseases : I, along with some friends, attended a talk by Dr Mahendra S Rao, NIH. He talked on how stem cells can be employed as a cell therapy to regenerate neurons in conditions like Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s.
  5. Human Variome Analysis and Implications in Medicine : This talk explains how measurement of individual parameters would enable medicine which would be personalized to each individual’s variome.

Please tell me how much you like (or dislike) this blog, so that I improve my content.

One thought on “My First Year @ Blogging

Leave a Reply

